Day 63: Good news and bad news

Take control of at least one new situation at home or work, one that you can handle.

The good news is that I am free. The bad news is that my wife and sons and mother-in-law are not. The good news is that I didn’t have to use chemicals. The bad news is that my family does. The good news is that I took control of the situation, for me, but for the others as well. The bad news is that it might not be enough.

The good news is that lice probably stay in the hair on the head. The bad news is that they apparently sometimes don’t.

The good news is that I didn’t cut my beard.

Image

The bad news is that I did anyway.

Image

The good news is that I can handle this: I can handle a lice invasion (if I had any, but I probably did, all the others had at least three each). The bad news is that my plan of a yeard in 2014 is gone. My promise to myself to let my beard grow.

The good news is that we’ll all be lice-free. The bad news is that it will take a couple of weeks for the others.

The good news is that I can shave my head to get rid of the lice easily. The bad news is that my wife thinks I’m vain — not only do I take pictures of myself before and after shaving, I even post them online.

The good news is that I’m not vain enough to care. The bad news is that I’m vain enough to think it matters.

There are still 300 days left of 2014.

Leave a comment