Day 78: In five years, I’ll be…

Think about what you would like to accomplish in the next five years. Develop a road map and assess how your present skills match with your goals.

In five years I’ll make a living as a writer and speaker (barefoot running, swearing…). To get there, I’ll have to write and speak a lot more; the good thing is that I know almost enough about barefooting and swearing. (Yes, they’re connected, but not because you swear while running.)

In five years, I’ll be the father of three healthy, happy boys. To get there, I have to endure five more years, no, I’ll have to be there for them for five more years, and enjoy the process.

In five years, I’ll be a Grand master of memory. To get there, I’ll have to practice let’s say 1000 hours more.

In five years, I’ll be still married to my wife. To get there, I’ll have to show her I love her.

In five years, I will have rowed a 100k. (Few people do that; it takes a day.)

In five years, I’ll be old and wise and happy. To get there, I’ll have to implement everything I learn in this blog. To do that, I’ll have to write.

So I’ll write.

(Strange goals. But what’s the point of having ordinary goals? Lofty goals. But what’s the point of aiming too low? Of all my strange, lofty goals the last 10-20 years, I am most proud of having managed to run a marathon barefoot. In part because that might have been the loftiest, strangest goal I ever have had, and because no-one thought I could do it. Strange? Lofty? Good.)

Leave a Reply

